Convocation Planning Committee


To plan and coordinate the Convocation, a staff appreciation event celebrating the past year’s accomplishments and anticipating future directions. Includes the following tasks: scheduling event, reserving location, setting agenda, arranging for speakers, ordering and purchasing refreshments, publicizing event, and handling setup and cleanup. Convocation-related ideas from the Employee Recognition Committee should be considered in planning.


Members serve three-year terms with 3-4 members rotating off each year. A chair is selected by the committee members at the beginning of the planning cycle each year.

  • CJ Gott – MSL (2023-2025) co-chair
  • Tiffany Esteban – LW (2022-2024)
  • Madison Francis – ARS (2022-2024) co-chair
  • Natya Hans – ARCS (2022-2024)
  • Flo Turcotte – SASC (2022-2024)
  • Devon Hickey – Acq&CS (2021-2023)
  • Joe Hitzler – Facilities (2021-2023)
  • Laura Marion – SASC (2021-2023)
  • Sato Someya – CatDS (2021-2023)
  • GW Swicord – DSS (2021-2023)
  • Joe Piazza – HR (ex-officio)

The Convocation Planning Committee reports to Valrie Minson, Associate Dean for Academic Support Services.